New? Start here

Start from scratch

  • Upload and store
  • Sync and access
  • View and update
  • Organize and search
  • Share and collaborate

 

Get started

Cheat sheet

  • Drive cheat sheet Need a quick reference for the Drive basics you've learned? Download this cheat sheet.

Collaborate better

  • Set up your organization's fileshare As an administrator, you can use Google Drive to manage, organize, and share your organization’s files in a single, centralized repository. After you set up your Drive fileshare, users will be able to find, store, and share documents efficiently in an organized folder structure.

  • Ramp up new team members faster For large projects, you need to get new team members up to speed fast. Often, project teams use a project onboard process to make new team members productive as soon as possible. With Google Apps, you can create a simple way for employees to orient themselves on your project using Drive, Google Docs, and Google Forms.

Top 4 Drive tips

Drive FAQ

  • How much storage do I have?

    If your organization has Google Apps for Work, you have 30 GB of storage across Drive, Gmail, and Google Photos. If your organization has Google Apps Unlimited, you have unlimited storage (domains with fewer than 5 users get 1 TB per user). If you’re unsure which edition your organization is using, ask your administrator.

  • What types of files can I upload to Drive?

    You can upload any type of file to Drive— photos, designs, drawings, recordings, videos, and anything else you want to store.

  • How do I access my stored files on other devices?

    After you store a file in Drive once, you can access it from any web browser on any device, or through the Drive app on any device.

    For example, if you upload the file "video.mp4" to Drive on the web, you don’t have to manually upload it on your phone and tablet, too—you’ll automatically see it there. For more information on accessing your files on other devices, see Get started with Drive.

  • What happens if I remove a file from Drive?

    If you own the file you remove, it's automatically removed from Drive on all of your devices and on the web. Removed files are moved to Trash in Drive and still count towards your total storage, until you permanently delete them on the web. For more information on removed Drive files, see Get started with Drive.

  • How long do deleted files stay in Drive?

    Removed files are moved to Trash in Drive; they remain in Trash and still count towards your total storage until you permanently delete them on the web. For more information on removed Drive files, see Get started with Drive.